I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

iknowwhythecagedbirdsingsI Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

I picked up I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, one of a series of memoirs written by Maya Angelou, because I teach a chapter from it out of my Comp 101 textbook, and I was curious about the rest of the story. I enjoyed it, thought it was well-written, but really struggled to separate the book from my perception of Angelou’s public persona and her mostly sappy, Hallmarky poetry. The book was pleasant, but with a slight aftertaste. Grade: C-

mass market paperback

Leave a Reply

