Gravity’s Rainbow

GravitysrainbowGravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

I started reading Gravity’s Rainbow numerous times, but always became bogged down in it, or felt I was missing a good portion of what Pynchon was  doing. It requires more discipline and more particular attention to detail; it’s not a casual plane ride book. This time I read all the way through from start to finish. I limited myself to a few pages a day, and spread the book out over more than a month. This allowed me to read and absorb much better. Most of the books listed in the blog thus far have been books I read while reading Gravity’s Rainbow, so some of them are deliberately a little more simplistic.

I got this copy at the D.A.V. for a quarter. The cover came off, so I used it as a bookmark. Hell of a bargain.

Gravity’s Rainbow is one of the finest novels I have ever read, and one of the most challenging. I’m not even going to attempt to try to describe the novel in any sort of comprehensive way here. There are better places on the internet to do that. The book is so rich, so steeped in a wealth of detail,  it’s breathtaking. Grade: A+

One thought on “Gravity’s Rainbow

  1. That sounds like a good way to read Finnegan’s Wake. I’ve always wanted to go back to that someday. Maybe I will… Nice write!

Leave a Reply

