Hard Rain Falling

HardrainfallingHard Rain Falling by Don Carpenter

I had never heard of Don Carpenter, but I’ll consider reading anything published by NYRB (New York Review Books) if I see it on the shelf. They have published so many excellent books. They brought back into print Hard Rain Falling, first published in 1966, and it is another reason to keep reading their books.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It tells the story of Jack Levitt, of his life in and out of poolhalls and prisons (San Quentin). I would very much like to read other books by Carpenter, and he has several other novels. I hope to find them. Grade: B+.

2 thoughts on “Hard Rain Falling

Leave a Reply

